Maine Trip: Part 1

I guess I have decided to break this into smaller parts.  I just don’t want to write something too long and too image heavy.  I’m afraid you won’t read it.  I have a short attention span; sometimes I lose interest halfway through really long entries.

Anyway…  This first post might be boring.  I promise we did fun stuff at some point!  We traveled all over the state.  I location tagged my Facebook album, and this a screen shot of the map.

Maine Map

So, yes, lots of fun places and things!

We left Friday, June 29th, for central Pennsylvania.  We had to drop the furbabies off with my mom since she was going to be pet-sitting them for us.  While in town (I grew up there, and miss it a lot sometimes), we grabbed some Eder’s ice cream and ran some last minute errands. The trip to Maine is reaaaally long. So, we waited to leave until Saturday morning.

As usual, Daniel drove most of the time.  My anxiety issues/road rage issues make me a bad driver for long distances (especially on roads I don’t know!).  The trip was relatively uneventful.  We did hit a bit of traffic near Hartford, but nothing too bad. We ate lunch at The Blue Colony Diner in Connecticut. That’s our usual ‘halfway mark’ when we’re meeting his parents. We’ve always had amazing food, service, and value there.  We also made a quick pit stop at Rickett’s Glen State Park since we were driving right by it. We only stayed a few minutes, but it is one of my favorite places ever.

We arrived at Daniel’s parent’s house in Farmington, Maine, around dinner time.  Nothing too exciting happened that evening.  We just spent the time chatting, catching up, and walking around their farm.

That was the night I discovered the amazing sunsets.  I made sure to photograph this view every evening.

Sunset

Sunday, we stopped by Walmart while his parents were at Church.  We needed to pick up a few things and buy a few souvenirs for people.  I always forget something.  Always.

We met up with them for lunch at this little place in Farmington, called The Brickhouse Cafe. The dining area was no bigger than my dinning room, with not a lot of seating. Daniel’s parents are regulars, so they knew everyone there. I had a kielbasa omlet, and it was amazing.

We spent the afternoon on Long Pond (Pond?  It’s 3 times bigger than our lakes here in Jersey!) in the boat.  It was beautiful and a lot of fun!  Trinity loves to go fast in the boat.  She laughed especially loud when we would hit a wake.  I love that crazy kid.

LakeOn A Boat

After dinner, Daniel and I went hiking on his parents’ property.  He took me to see a beaver dam, and it was beautiful!

Beaver Dam

We also found some moose tracks, but did not see an actual moose.  That makes me sad.

Moose Tracks

And that wraps up the trip there and the first full day in Maine.  I’ll split them by day from now on, since they’ll be much more interesting!  I apologize for the lack of action in this post.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, maine, photos, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maine Trip: Part 1

  1. I LOVE Maine! One of my daughters-in-law was born and raised there and we had a lovely visit with her family in Kennebunk. So beautiful!!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It really is beautiful up there! My In-Laws live in Central Maine, but we did manage to visit the coast this year! It is so beautiful!

  2. I think that this was exciting! Great photos so far!

Leave a Reply

