The one where I face my irrational fear of treadmills

It was miserably hot yesterday.  Hot and humid.  It’s supposed to be like that for the rest of the week.  It zaps my motivation like whoa.  I really just want to lay around in my air conditioned house all day.

I pushed myself to brave the heat and drive to the gym yesterday, though.  The air conditioned gym.  I did my usual workout, then finally faced my irrational fear of the treadmill.  It wasn’t so bad!  I did accidentally select some sort of interval training.  So, after a minute or so, the speed basically doubled.  I almost flew off the back, but I managed to jump off before I made a fool of myself.

I only ran a mile, though.  I had already done 30 minutes on the elliptical and weights.  Plus, I had ran the previous two days.

I’m about to get ready to brave the heat and go to the gym this morning.  I think I might try to run my full 5k on the treadmill, just to see how it is.  So, wish me luck!

There are two things I don’t like about the treadmill, though.  The first one is it’s boooring.  I’m used to running around town or on a trail.  I like looking at stuff!  The second is that I don’t know what speed to set it on.  I apparently have a hard time running at a constant speed.  I guess I need to work on that, so the treadmill might be good for me.

And…. on a totally different topic, my little garden is thriving.  I had more lettuce than I knew what to do with and ate fresh spinach every morning for the past three weeks.  Now?  Now I’m enjoying my green and yellow beans!

Yup.  You see those beans?  I grew them.  They were DELICIOUS, too.  I didn’t plant a lot, so I only had enough for one family meal.  But, still!  It wasn’t bad for a first time gardener.  Next year, I know to plant more!

FYI, I just steamed them with some red potatoes.  Then, they were tossed with olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper, and then baked 400F for like 20 minutes.  Om nom nom!!

Megan and I have plans to go cherry picking on Friday.  I hope it’s not too hot and it doesn’t rain!  We’ve been brain storming recipes, and I’m pretty excited!

Just keep your fingers crossed that the weather holds out!

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, gardening, rambling, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The one where I face my irrational fear of treadmills

  1. moneysava says:

    Isn’t growing your own a great feeling? I am currently growing strawberries (as I’ve previously said I believe), tomatoes, beetroot, (never have much luck with those) and onion. And I have just put in some seeds for sweetcorn (not had much luck with those in the past either), peas and beans (which aren’t looking good due to the vast amount of water)! Congratulations on your beans

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It really is.

      I only have a small garden this year since it’s my first time. I had lettuce, spinach, and beans, but I also have carrots, broccoli, and potatoes that I hope turn out amazing 😀

      • moneysava says:

        Are you growing strawberries? Aren’t they the best picked from fresh? Never grown spinach but lettuce has been successful in previous years – although his year it has failed. Love doing carrots too, they are pretty easy especially with the carrot fly resistant variety available now. Our garden is small too, but in previous years I have grown pumpkins, beans, peas and much more all in either containers or in our smallish areas of the garden with soil. Good luck in your growing – it can become quite addictive I know.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Unfortunately, I am not growing strawberries… but there are three farms around me that have ‘pick your own strawberry’ fields. I’ve been there a few times already, haha. They’re amazing when they’re fresh!

        I’m planning on growing pumpkins, but it’s not planting time for them yet. They’ll just be the small pumpkins for decoration around Halloween and such!

        Thanks! Good luck with your garden, too!

  2. slapppshot says:

    You are living my dream pamasaurus!!!
    I want (need) to go to the gym and I would love to one day have my own veggie garden. Growing your own stuff, picking it when ready, cooking it and eating it. Somethin’ about that I find romantic 🙂 Enjoy…and the recipe sounded tonsil-tickling good too!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! The gym and I have a love-hate relationship. I dread going there everyday, but then I feel a million times better when I leave.

      It’s my first year with a garden (first year with a yard instead of a tiny apartment!) so I started small… but I’ve enjoyed it so far. Next year, I have bigger plans 😀

  3. slapppshot says:

    Hmm, tonsil-tickling??? Should’ve been tastebud-tickling 🙂

  4. tracye1 says:

    You go girl! I get bored on the treadmill, too. If I’m not reading a book/kindle—I don’t run, but walk pretty fast and can generally manage to read for some reason on the TM, BUT…..I usually download a podcast to listen to and it really speeds up the time. If I get super bored, I break up my time with 1/2 on the TM and 1/2 on the bike….mixes it up a bit. OR….I play little games like..1 minute on this speed, next minute up and add some incline, next minute up again or back down and so on…

    Yay on the garden! We experimented here and our cucumbers are just ready to pick and the tomatoes…oh my goodness! Homemade salsa coming up this weekend!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I have such a short attention span; that’s why I get so bored. I’ll have to try podcasts or something, because my music wasn’t cutting it today. They have TVs at the gym, so maybe I could try watching them. Thanks for the suggestions!

      WOO for gardening!

  5. I am so impressed! You grew your own……….very nice!!

  6. A Budding Chef says:

    Good luck with your treadmill experiences! Last summer, I completely tried to do the whole gym/treadmill/elliptical thing and I always managed to get shin splints. While I’m not running 5k, I do walk 3-4 miles or try to, every morning and will definitely take the ground over the treadmill thingy. I always feel loud on it and, like yourself, never know what speed to set it at!

    Your veggies look absolutely delicious! The closest I’ve gotten to home grown veggies are my aunt’s tomatoes, cucumbers, and squash, but never beans! I should take up the initiative and plant something next year, as I’m trying to cook with more veggies (they’re so yum and versatile, haha!)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! My husband started running with me as well (through the couch to 5k program, it’s great for beginners!) and he got shin splints so bad! Turns out they’re caused by the shin muscle being too weak! You can build that muscle by doing heel/toe raises.

      I’m not trying to be like ‘oh you have to do the elliptical or run!!’ because walking is awesome! I lost like 40lbs by just walking for exercise when I first started my weight loss journey! Outside is so nice! I get so bored on the treadmill, and I know one of these days I’m going to fly off the back. I don’t know how people do it all the time :/

      Thank you, again! I love fresh veggies. I only planted a small garden this year since it was my first time and I don’t exactly have a green thumb. Next year I’m going bigger. You should definitely do it. There’s something very rewarding in eating something that you’ve grown yourself 😀

Leave a Reply

