Last Day of School

Today is Trinity’s last day of 6th grade.  She really is growing up too fast, but I’ll save you that rant.  You already read it all when I ranted about it being her 12th birthday already.

I know I should be a little sad because of this… but I’m relieved.  I no longer have to wake up at 6:30 every morning, at least until September.  My husband works night shift, and I swear it messes with all of us.  We are all night people, including Trinity.  We don’t do mornings very well.  We’re more likely to see the sunset than the sunrise.

I’m fighting to stay awake right now.  I’m exhausted.  The only thing getting me through is that I get to sleep in tomorrow.  I just keep telling myself, ‘just make it through today.’

I’m good at pep talking myself through things.  It’s how I got to where I am with running.  Some days I have to constantly tell myself things like, ‘just make it through this song, and you’ll be half way done,’ or ‘just about ten more minutes and you’ll be done.’

I, however, am not good at pep talking myself through things if there is no end in sight.  If I didn’t know when I would get to sleep in again, I probably wouldn’t be awake right now.  If I didn’t know how long my run takes, I’d give up halfway through.

I don’t know where I’m going with this.  I just started this post as a way to keep myself awake.  The other interwebs were boring me this morning.  I guess I’ll go squeeze a run in before picking the soon to be 7th grader up from school.

I need to start planning for summer vacation.  I have a whole list of things I want to accomplish.  Once I get it organized and finalized, I’ll share it.  One thing on the list is ‘watch the sun rise over the ocean.’  That will probably only happen if I stay up all night.

I’m also taking suggestions!  What do you think I should add to my list?  What is on your list?  Do other people even make lists like this?

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in rambling, running, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Last Day of School

  1. Vicky says:

    A road trip somewhere is usually on my list of summer to-dos… 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      oh, good idea! I adore road trips! We’re actually probably driving up to Maine at the end of this month… I guess that counts 😉

  2. Jennifer M. says:

    You should make a Summer Manifesto – a list of things you want to do this summer. I got the idea from http://katieleigh.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/summer-manifesto/. Makes a great blog post, too 😉

    I know how you feel about summer vacation. My son will be heading off to high school in September! Where does the time go? But I will enjoy sleeping in for the next two months, that’s for sure!

    • pamasaurus says:

      That’s exactly what I’m planning on doing once I get all my plans organized. I have BIG plans this summer 😀

  3. First, I can’t believe your daughter is just getting out of school! Goodness, our state gets out during the first couple of weeks in May. Of course, we start before Labor Day too. I don’t have any suggestions about summer, just do whatever makes you happy………yeah, put that on your list – do what makes you happy!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m definitely planning on doing things that make me happy 😀

      If you knew how many times I’ve heard that today… haha. Yeah, we get out really late. I grew up in Central Pennsylvania, and we were always out by June 6th. Of course, we went back somewhere around the 20th of August.

      I think New York has a similar schedule, but here in Jersey, we might get out late… but we won’t go back until a few days after Labor Day. So, our summer break is the same length, just different dates 😉

  4. tracye1 says:

    Wow, your schools get out late, but then you obviously go back after Labor Day….something I really wish we’d adopt here!!! Seems the kids just start to get a rhythm of school and then BAM, holiday! I love lists, too. However, we’re just winging it this summer, no big vaca plans, just some long weekends, so we’ll see where those take us! 😉 enjoy summer!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! Enjoy your summer as well!

      I grew up in Central Pennsylvania, and always got out the very beginning of June, but went back around the 20th of August. I’ve heard they get out in May down in Texas! I guess as long as you’re having the same number of school days, when those days are, it doesn’t matter.

      I made my list last night, and it’s not so much big vacation plans as it is ‘go to Philly and eat this.’ Haha.

  5. moneysava says:

    Here in the UK our school’s don’t break up until mid July…

    • pamasaurus says:

      It must have something to do with the climate for the area. Texas Schools (in the Southern US) get out in May. I’m in the New England Area, and we get out later. The UK is colder than it is here, I believe. I don’t know. I just made this theory up, but it seems to fit 😉

      • moneysava says:

        I think your probably right about us being colder lol, we’re in the height of summer and only had a few nice days of sunshine. The rest has been mainly rain and cool…

  6. Feed birds out of your hand?

Leave a Reply

