Running Update

It’s been over a week since I updated about running.  Things were going well.  I was shaving a few seconds off my full 5k time here and there; my best time was 35:45 for 3.11 miles.  Not too shabby.

Today, though, my stupid hip started hurting half way through my run.  It was so bad that I couldn’t pep talk my way through it.  I had to stop.  It makes me feel awful and lazy, but my health comes first.

For those who don’t know, I’m prone to arthritis-like inflammation in my left hip.  I haven’t had issues with it in a while, but lately it’s been bothering me off and on.  I have no doubt that it’s from all the running I do, but I think it’s extra bad now for a few different reasons.

First, I’ve been doing a TON of driving the past few days.  I usually drive our truck, but since I was going long distances, I took the car.  I’m short and have to sit in a weird slouchy position to reach the pedals.  This bothers my hip, a lot, especially when I’m in the car for 3+ hours a day.

Second, I’ve been sleeping on that side lately.  I keep trying to sleep on my right side, but I roll over during the night.  My mattress is hard and very, very uncomfortable.  My wonderful husband loves a firm mattress.  Blah.

Finally, I’ve been pretty lax with my warmup/cooldown/stretching lately.  I need to start doing it religiously everyday.  I have stretches my doctor suggested that I am supposed to do three times a day.  I only do them like once, if I remember.

As you can see, it’s really my own fault that my hip hurts so bad.  I have a game plan, though.  I’ve worked too hard to have to give up running.  I enjoy it too much, and it makes me happy.  I can’t let this hip pain be the end of it!  So, here are a few things that I think will help:

1.  Be crazy strict about my stretching, warmups, and cooldowns.  These only take a few minutes; there’s no reason for me to be skipping them.

2.  Keep trying to sleep on my right side, but get an egg crate or something to fold up and put under my hip for padding.

3.  Start running on the trail.  I usually run in town because it’s convenient.  I’m not too lazy to run 3.11 miles, but I’m too lazy to drive the 10 minutes to the trail to run, ha!  Running on pavement is definitely harder on my joints than the trail.  I figure, if I do at least 2 out of my 3 weekly runs on the trail, it will help my pain a lot.

4.  Drive the truck as much as possible and don’t make any crazy road trips for a while.  Well, at least don’t drive on any crazy road trips, being a passenger is fine.

And… that’s all I got right now.  I’m also going to give in and take my stupid NSAID.  It makes me stupidly sleepy and oddly zombie-like.  I don’t mean ‘your face looks tasty’ zombie.  More like ‘I have no control over the movement of my limbs’ zombie.

I know I have some runner follwers.  Anyone have any tips to share?  Suggestions?  Really good kinetic stretches for warming up?  I’d appreciate anything!  Thanks!

I had planned on making a whole ‘weekend update’ post, but this seemed more important.  That will come tomorrow, I guess, since this is already my second post for the day.  Besides, that gives me time to edit photos.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in rambling, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running Update

  1. That’s great that your slowly decreasing your time on the 5K. I can’t wait until I can finish a 5K! Too bad about your hip though. I wonder if you took an Ibuprofen before you ran if that help, if it continues to bother you that is.

    • pamasaurus says:

      thanks! I’m thinking about redoing the whole program, but instead of running/walking, I’d do running/running faster to increase my speed. I’ve heard it really helps.

      I might have to try that if it doesn’t get better. I’m really thinking it was just all the driving that did me in :/

  2. You have to take care of yourself. I’m sure your runner friends will help you out, but the car can hurt your hips especially when the air conditioner is on!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! Really? The air conditioner was on! That may have very well had something to do with it. Hopefully it gets better in the next few days. I feel lazy when I don’t work out 😉

  3. TheLittleGSP says:

    I’m not an expert runner but I ran track in high school and college so here’s my $0.02…

    1. What condition are your sneakers in? If you’ve been running a lot lately you might have wore down enough of the cushioning so that the combo of running on pavement and running in worn down shoes is putting extra stress on your hip. Might be worth stopping into a local running store to get them to check out your shoes (also to make sure that they are the right type for your feet). 🙂

    2. Also, do you ice your hip at all? At least in college ice seemed to be the cure-all for achy muscles after a long run. We’d actually stand waist-high in an ice bath every day (ouch!)

    Beyond those tips, I think your plan of stretching more, sleeping on a pad, and running on the trail more sounds perfect. Hope you feel better soon and keep up the great work!! I wish I was motivated enough to run that far these days…

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks for the tips! I’ll have to stop by a running store. The sneakers are new-ish, probably about 1.5 months? Somewhere in there. I’ve only been running for around 2 months, haha. Although, I did attempt to run a few years ago and had the same issue. It bothers me on and off, depending on activities and such.

      I’ve done the ice/heat thing. They do help! It’s not a muscle pain, though, it’s inflammation in my actual joint, blaaaaah. I’m only 29, but it makes me feel so old sometimes!

  4. I hope the situation with you hip is doing better by now and that it stops bothering you so much! ❤

Leave a Reply

