Star Wars: A New Musical Hope

Yes, you read the title correctly.  Yesterday I went to see a musical version of Episode IV with my friend Megan.

I’m sorry to report that I forgot my camera and my cellular device died.  So, I have no photos of this adventure.  This makes me sad, but I’ll live.

The evening started with a horrible drive to Megan’s apartment, located in a Philadelphian suburb.  Traffic on 95 was at a dead stop.  I was not amused.  I took the slightly longer route to avoid staying on that highway for longer than possible.  Then, I hit ever single red light possible.  Luckily, I got there in time to catch the train to Wilmington.

The train ride was nice!  I’ve never taken one before.  We made plans to take one into Philly for some adventuring.  I’m pretty excited about that.

Wilmington is not what we expected.  I don’t know how to explain it, but we had to walk through a homeless tunnel that smelled of urine to get to the venue.  There was really someone sleeping in there.  It was bad, especially for me.  I’m a small-town girl.  Most of the time, I carry a utility knife, a pink one.  So, I was ready to cutabitch if need be.  We made it through with no issue, though.

The musical was at an opera house.  Except, it wasn’t on the main stage.  They set up homemade stadium seating in what we assumed was stage left.  Yeah.  It was so weird!  We’re pretty used to stuff like this, though; random stuff happens to us EVERY TIME we get together.  Every time.

The play, which was put on by Bootless Stageworks, was very very low budget.  It was also very, very kitschy/campy/whatever you want to call it.

I had a lot of fun, though.  I was laughing through most of it… sometimes at stuff that wasn’t meant to be intentionally funny.

I’ll just list a few highlights:

-The homemade R2D2, made from a power wheels, was REALLY loud.  It never got old; I seriously laughed every time I heard it, especially if it was from backstage.

-Power converters were a type of drug.  Uncle Owen was addicted; he tried to buy them from the Jawas.  Rooofl.

-I think the best part of all was when Uncle Owen and C3PO slow ran at each other and then danced in a circle.  It was straight out of a romantic comedy.

-The force is like gravity, only more badass.

-The Chewy costume was AWESOME.  He was so tall because he was wearing 12 inch furry platform shoes.  It was amazing.

-Han admitted to shooting first!

-The one rebel was very, very intense.  They had to fly around when they were trying to take down the Death Star.  They legit put out their arms like planes.  The one guy was REALLY into it.

I guess that’s a good enough list (Megan, please remind me if I’m missing anything important).  I should mention that most of the acting was superb, especially Uncle Owen and Obi-Wan.

After it was over, the actors came out to mingle with the small audience.  Megan and I decided we wanted our photo taken with Chewbacca (Her cell was still functioning) and Obi-Wan.  Well, Obi-Wan walked by us and said ‘Hi!’  We both awkwardly waved back and froze like a couple of star struck teenagers.  We left at that point.  We’re both so very socially awkward.

We caught the train back to her stop, grabbed some delicious quesadillas from Wawa, and I headed home.  Luckily traffic was so much better at midnight.

I should note that they’re planning Jerry Springer, The Opera for October.  I just might have to go see this.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, geek and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Star Wars: A New Musical Hope

  1. msdulce says:

    This. Is. Awesome. You totally made me snort-laugh in the middle of work. Work people heard this noise, and I ended up having to act out the rebel with airplane arms to explain what I was laughing at. Such a good post. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m glad I could amuse you (and your workmates!).

      I just keep replaying it in my head. He did that whole ‘close your eyes and take a deep breath thing’ before spreading his wings. I wish I had a video because he was just so intense!

  2. Awww I’m sorry you forgot your camera! But there’ll always be another time though… especially if you go see Jerry Springer. lol Haha! I wish I could have seen the airplanes! I’m glad you had such a great time! ❤

Leave a Reply

