Couch to 5k

Today I successfully finished the couch to 5k running program.  I ran 3 miles in under 35 minutes.  I’m pretty proud of myself.  I just need to add in the .12 miles to make it a real 5k.  Then I’m going to work on time.  I want to eventually do it in under 30 minutes.  I’m taking it slow, though.  No over pushing myself.

Eventually, I also want to work up to running on the treadmill.  That will come in handy during the hot and humid summers and cold winters.  I just have to overcome my anxiety. I just know I’ll be the one to fly off the end.  I just know it.  I’m sure of it.

Yes, I’m scared of the treadmill.  I’ll overcome this eventually.  I just have to talk myself into it.  It’s a process I’m used to.  I’ve lived with these anxiety issues all my life.

Anyway…

The best part running?  Running actually makes me happy.  It’s hard to explain to a non-runner.  It’s something I never understood until I actually started running!  I used to always think, ‘WhyTF do people run?  What can they possibly like about it??’  Well, I now know the answer.

I’m just amazed at how far I have come.  If you knew me three years ago, hell, if you knew me a year ago, you’d know how far that is.  I was a lazy smoker.  Now I am capable of running 3 miles without stopping.

Even nine weeks ago, when I started the program, I wouldn’t have thought it possible.  I had been smoke free for a few months, but I was still lazy.  I highly doubted I could run the length of my block.

Now look at me.  I feel pretty amazing lately.

And, besides, I now feel confident in my ability to outrun the zombies in the impending apocalypse.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in rambling, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Couch to 5k

  1. Sounds like a great transformation. But more importantly, the last sentence tells me why you REALLY started running. To get away from the Zombies! Love that show too!!

  2. John says:

    Well done, its a great feeling isn’t it?

  3. That’s fantastic. Great job!

  4. msdulce says:

    Congratulations! You *should* feel amazing, that’s a huge accomplishment.

  5. Dianty says:

    That’s great! I’m up to 1.23 miles. I can’t decide if I should stay there and work on speed/comfort in running it or if I should add more distance. I think I may stay there for another week. I too am terrified of the treadmill. I imagine myself flying off the back of it like in the movies.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! Add a quarter mile every week. That’s how the c25k does it towards the end. That way you have 3 runs to get used to it before you add more distance!

      I’m thinking about redoing the c25k stuffs because apparently the best way to work on speed is interval training. So, instead of walk/run, I’d redo it with run/run faster.

      That’s the same fear I had of the treadmill! I used it for the first time ever this week, and it actually wasn’t too bad 😀

Leave a Reply

