Doctor Update

I had something else planned for today’s post.  I really need to show off some of my Halloween crafts soon!  So, I was going to post one today, but I decided to update about the whole doctor situation.  I might make another post later if I have time.

I still haven’t heard back from the property manager, but I did get a call today from the Chief Medical Officer.  I had emailed the whole board of directors yesterday to let them know what happened to me, and she was on the ball this morning.  I wasn’t home when she called.  So she left a message on my home phone then called my cell phone.

This is the message she left:

Hi this is <her name>.  I’m trying to reach <my full name>.  I’m the medical director at <medical network>.  First, I thank you for your email and for taking the time to let me know about your experience, and secondly to apologize.  I certainly will talk to the doctor involved and the other staff about what you brought up.  I am going to try to reach you back.  I’ll try your other number to see if I can talk with you.  I would just like to make sure I understand everything.  My sincere apologies.  That is not what we want the experience to be like at all.  If you do decide you want to be seen by someone at our office, I would be happy to set something up for you.  Although I certainly will understand if you would prefer not to.  Again, thank you, and I hope you have a good day.  Buh-bye.

I did answer when she called my cellular (I was about to go on a run).  We discussed what happened and where I felt the doctor failed to do her job properly.  We discussed how the nurses were less than professional, and how my whole experience with the office was awful from the start.

She stated that the behavior I described was not acceptable and that she was definitely going to take care of the situation.  Being busy was no excuse for how I was treated.  She did say something about how sometimes there are too many issues to be addressed in one visit, but it didn’t sound like that was the case with me.

I reiterated that I already had an appointment with another office, and that I wasn’t looking for anything from them.  I just wanted to make sure that this doesn’t happen to anyone else, especially to someone who doesn’t have the opportunity to find another doctor.  I also touched a bit on my experience with the other doctor years ago, and how it made me feel.  I felt like I was wrong about something being wrong with me and that I was crazy.  As a result, I dealt with everything for all that time before caving and making this last appointment.  I don’t want anyone else to ever be put in that situation again.  I don’t want anyone to ever feel how I felt.

She stated that she’d be happy to get me in with a different doctor at the group and stated that she would be more than happy to waive the fee for me.  After I declined, she gave me her direct number in case I changed my mind, wanted to discuss any more concerns about my visit, or heard anyone else complaining about their care.  She said she was new to the practice and wanted to make sure this was an isolated incident.

She apologized a few times throughout the conversation.  I felt like she was truly sorry and not just trying to appease me.  She seemed like she was really disgusted by my treatment and really wanted to fix things.

I felt like it was a constructive phone call, and I really hope that things change so others don’t have to experience the horrible treatment I was subjected to.

 

I just want to take this opportunity to tell anyone reading this that, no matter your circumstances, you do not deserve to be treated like I was by a doctor.  You are paying them for their service.  They work for you.  It’s not ok for them to treat you like you don’t matter.  If you are receiving this type of service, report it.  Sometimes the managers don’t realize this is going on, and they need to be aware.  They are in a position to stop it.

I’m learning this lesson the hard way.  You need to stand up for yourself and make yourself heard.  If you’re like me and have difficulty speaking up, bring an advocate.  I’m bringing my husband to my next appointment because he’ll stand up for me if I cannot.  Bring a family member, friend, anyone who will help you out.

You deserve to be treated like an actual human being with feelings, and don’t let anyone treat you as anything less.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in daniel, illness, serious and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Update

  1. Gail says:

    I would go with you if I could. Tell them that you want Dan to be in there with you during the examination.

  2. I am so proud of you!! I promise, that medical director will address the situation and you HAVE made it better for the next person………sometimes, that’s the best we can hope for. So, if you’ve been wondering what your purpose in life is lately besides being wife and mom – this is it! You are able to eloquently express yourself in a constructive way that makes the right people sit up and take notice. That’s a big deal. You have grown in this experience and did you notice? That was a very high anxiety situation, but you mastered it! Good girl! Now, when you go to the next physician, since you already know what options you have if you don’t feel you are being listened to, you will approach the entire situation with more confidence and less fear. xoxoxo

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you <3

      There's no way we can go back in time and have them treat me differently, but if I suffered through this to help one person, then I guess it was worth it!

      I've never thought about myself as an eloquent person. Sure, I can write intelligibly, but I know people who have more of a 'voice'. You're the second person to call me eloquent today, the other being the medical director. So, thank you for that. It boosts my ego a bit.

      I know! I'm so proud of myself for not ignoring her call and just wishing the whole situation would go away! I think it helped that I got to write the main part out in an email. If I was forced to recount that over the phone, I don't know what she would have thought of me!

      This was definitely a learning experience. Thank you so much for all your help and support in getting through it!

      • kalamitykelli says:

        You write one blog on your own and one with Jecca and you didn’t know you were eloquent? well, the medical director and I have both got more education than 2 people should have and so we’ve read our share of words……….we both know eloquent when we read it! :) Happy to help – you are welcome.

Leave a Reply

