Exploring Your Backyard

I feel like I’m on the verge of a panic attack, and have felt this way since waking up.  I wish I knew how to make it stop; hopefully it goes away soon.

I’m currently trying to distract myself in hopes that it helps.  I’m also procrastinating.  I should be running, but it’s foggy, dreary, and oddly humid outside.  It’s not supposed to rain again until this afternoon, so I don’t have to worry about that… it’s just blah out.  I’ll get to my run soon, though.

I do have a point to this entry, though.  I read this post the other day on one of my favorite blogs (seriously, go follow her.  She had the best adventures!).  The basic point of the post was how we take our hometowns for granted.  We think ‘oh it’ll always be there.’  This is definitely true for me.  I’m always aching to go on road trips.  I get bored walking around my town.

Of course, her ‘town’ is a lot bigger than mine.  Clayton, New Jersey features two convenience stores, a Dunkin Donuts, and a tiny grocery store.  That’s it.  I have to drive to the next town over for anything.  That doesn’t mean that my town can’t be beautiful, because it is.  I have pictures to prove it.

I went back through my photos (I was too lazy to drag out my external hard drive, so these are all saved from Facebook.) and found a few of my favorite that were taken in Clayton.

So, here they are:

This is from last winter. We got a tiny bit of snow.

I’m obsessed with this fence. Of course, if it were mine, my dog would have ran away a long time ago.

I was obsessed with the color of this tree. I can’t wait for the color change, which will happen soon!

I have this dot on my lens. It usually blends in, but in some photos I have to clone or crop it out. I forgot in this one.

I have a weird obsession with trees. I think they are beautiful.

Again with the fences ;)

The sidewalks are like this around one block. It’s so weird.

This is from last spring. I love this tree.

 

Please keep in mind that a lot of these are from when I first got my semi-fancy pants camera, and I was just learning how to use lightroom.  I never claimed to be a professional; it’s just a hobby.

Now I have to force myself to leave the house and go running.  Ugh, the trail is going to be muddy.

 

 

 

 

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Exploring Your Backyard

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    Great photos! My favorites are #1 (I’m obsessed with train tracks), #5 (old tress in winter are the best!), and #8 (beautiful!!!). Good luck on your run in this weather. I don’t blame you for not wanting to go outside.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I love train tracks, too. I have a photo taken in the same spot as #1 for every season. Well, two for winter: one without snow and the one pictured. The autumn one is my favorite, but I couldn’t find it in my quick search.

      I forced my way out, my run wasn’t so good… but it’s better than sitting on my butt all day! The sun came out, but it’s still muggy and blah out. At least the fog lifted.

  2. In my experience, Reiki stops that kind of jittery feeling in its tracks. Know anyone who does that there?

    • pamasaurus says:

      I don’t know anyone, but I’ll definitely look into it. Thanks!

      It’s not a pleasant feeling… it’s like I feel something bad coming, and get panicked. I’m tense and blah and feel like I could crawl out of my skin.

      • I know just what you mean. I’ve had momentary whiffs of that since the stroke and some other stresses this past year. For me it mostly happens at night, when there is nothing else going on to be distracting. If you could just ignore it, or suck it up and work through it, that would be my first choice, believe me. But taking five minutes for a self-treatment stops it cold. If you find it works well for you, getting trained and attuned might be worth while. You always have your hands with you, but can’t always get to a Reiki person, even though distance sessions are usually a phone call away.

  3. Did you get to your run? If it helps, I wouldn’t have! I need very little to keep me on the sofa!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I did get my run in… around noon. I wrote that entry first thing in the morning. So, I procrastinated a while. Actually, I went shopping first, but meh. I got to it eventually, and that’s all that matters (although I sucked at running today, blah)

  4. msdulce says:

    I LOVE IT!! :D And you said your town “wasn’t that interesting.” These pictures are gorgeous, which means you’re losing credibility. ;) The first picture could seriously be a professional print that I’d pay a lot of $$ for. It’s amazingly good. I also reeeally love the tree picture and the sidewalk shot. I hope the jittery feeling is dissipating… panic attacks are terrible.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks so much! That first one is my favorite spot in all of town. I have a photo like that for all the seasons, two for winter (that one and one without snow). My favorite is the autumn one, but I couldn’t find it in my quick search. It would take more time than I was willing to give it ;)

      The jittery feeling eventually left; after running and some shopping. I hate that feeling :/

  5. Such beautiful pictures!! I hope you are feeling better – you don’t deserve all these problems!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      I am feeling better now; some shopping and running distracted me enough to forget about it, thankfully!!

      I’ve had anxiety issues since I was little, though. It comes in waves; sometimes its barely there, other times it’s crippling.

      My mom has stories, though… like my 4th birthday party, the only time I talked was to whisper something to her. Or, once I ended up having all these tests order by the doctor when I was young because I wouldn’t pee in a cup. He asked me if I could pee for him, and I thought he meant pee in front of him, so I said no… and so he thought I had a UTI. Haha. It makes for some funny stories, sometimes ;)

      • Those do sound funny but when you are in the throes of an anxiety attack, you probably aren’t laughing. Top Girl has some trouble like yours. Once, she was doing some archival work on Mesa Verde (Colorado) of the Anastasi Indians. It’s very isolated there with little TV, no computer and only intermittant cell service. After 6 weeks it became too much for her and she called, crying saying that she wouldn’t hang up till I promised to come get her because the Brady Bunch song was on repeat in her head and it was making her pull her hair out! Needless to say, I was on the road the next morning. She was panicked until we drove off the Mesa for the last time 2 days later. She laughs about it now, but not then!

Leave a Reply

