Delaware Museum Of Natural History

I just returned from some hard core Halloween shopping.  We now have tons of projects and things!  I’m pretty excited.

Also, Candy Corn M&Ms are delicious.

That’s not what this post is about, though.  You’ll see posts on these things in the future.

 

Yesterday, while I was thinking to my keyboard about my many issues, I mentioned that Trinity and I had done some adventuring.  That is what this post is about.

While looking over Down Home South Jersey’s weekend events post, I noticed that one local museum was free because it was participating in Smithsonian Magazine’s Museum Day.  I checked out the website to see all the participating museums within driving distance.

After going over the list a few times, Trinity and I decided to try The Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia.  That idea went out the window when I realized I would have to drive and park in Philly.  Alone.  No thank you.  My anxiety gets so bad; I almost get a panic attack thinking about it.  I’ve done it before, but I’d rather not do it again.

I was thinking about just driving somewhere and taking the train into the city, when I noticed another Natural History museum on the list.  This one in Delaware.  It was 10-15 minutes farther away.  I didn’t mind, though, because this place had a parking lot and was not in the middle of a huge city.

Besides, I’ve been to The Academy of Natural Sciences before.  They do have an amazing dinosaur exhibit, but the rest of the museum left a lot to be desired.

Well, the dinosaurs are pretty much all I really wanted to see.  Looking at dinosaur bones is my favorite pastime.

So, I made the decision to head out to The Delaware Museum of Natural History.  It was a nice museum, but on the small side.  I was HIGHLY disappointed in their dinosaur section; they only had two skeletons.  They did, however, have some nice hiking trails behind the museum.  We spent a total of an hour and a half there.  That was time to explore all the trails, the whole museum, and the gift shop, as well as grab some snacks from the vending machine.  It was lunchtime, and we were hungry.

I’m not sorry I picked that museum, though, because Megan went to one in Philly.  She said it was really crowded.  So… yeah.  Philly traffic, worrying about parking, and crazy crowds.  That sounds like a recipe for a Pami panic attack or, at least, a grumpy Pami.

I made it sound like an awful time… that wasn’t my intention.  We actually had a lot of fun!

I’m going to post a ton of photos now.

This awesome turtle statue was in the parking lot. There were lots of awesome sculptures around the grounds.

This huge giant squid replica greeted us in the foyer.

What is an Elephant Bird? It must be HUGE!

This is the fossilized skeleton of a Yangchuanosaurus.

This is the oldest known bird, Archaeopteryx.

Trinity with a with a Parasaurolophus head replica.

This isn’t a stegosaurus. It’s a Tuojiangosaurus.

You could touch a Hadrosaur vertebra.

Ignore the glare (it was behind glass), but this preserved puffer fish amused me.

They were setting up for a wedding. I didn’t realize you could get married in museums.

WHAT? You can get married in front of a T-Rex skull??? Why am I already married? Dream wedding right here, guys!  Married in front of a skull, photos around the other fossils.  It would be amazing.

This Argentinosaurus vertebra looks like a head/face. Do you see it? Also, could you imagine how big that dinosaur must have been? It blows my mind.

This was a pretty cool coral reef replica. Trinity was afraid to walk on it.

This taxidermied elephant head was HUGE! Side note: The lighting was HORRIBLE everywhere in this place.

Of course I had to have my picture taken with a dinosaur <3

I just love this tree. I’m weird and sometimes obsess over stupid things.

This was while we were exploring the trail.

That’s just a small sampling of the pictures I took today.  I won’t flood you with all of them.

Now I want to go find another museum with more fossils.  I’m a little let down.

What is your favorite type of museum?  What is the best museum you’ve ever been to?  Do you have a favorite museum?  Do you hate museums and never go to them?  I have a lot of questions.

I love to go to all differety types of museums!  I really adore them.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, geek, museum, photos, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Delaware Museum Of Natural History

  1. LOVE this! Top Girl got her master’s in Museum Management and one of her many internships was in the Oklahoma Museum of Natural History – I loved it there too and yours looked like so much fun! I loved the coral reef that Trinity was standing on. P.S. – I can’t wait to see all the halloween projects. Top Girl and I will start on ours next weekend!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Working in a museum seems like an amazing job! Does she still work in a museum now??

      I just have to find time to start and finish all these projects! I have one done that I need to post about probably Tuesday. What kinds of projects are you making??

      • we are making an edible haunted house, cake pops, oreo balls, and some more of those ghosts for sure. Probably some cupcakes as well – I’ll post about all those. Hopefully it will all turn out well! :) She never took a job in museum because they pay very badly and she’s not willing to make what they want to pay her!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Oh wow! I haven’t even started thinking about Halloween treats (actually, I have a bunch of stuff pinned. I have to decide which I want to make!). These projects are DIY decorations.

        I did buy some cupcake holders that look like spider legs today. I’m pretty excited to use them!

        That makes me sad that museum people are underpaid! Boo :/

  2. msdulce says:

    You had me at ‘candy corn M&Ms.’ I did not know those existed and am intrigued, to say the least. This looks like such a fun adventure! That pufferfish’s expression is hilarious… he looks like he’s hadituptohere. :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      I found my candy corn m&ms at Target, and I just bought another pack at Walmart. So, they appear to be available at most major retailers. Unlike the candy corn Oreos (I haven’t tried them) that are a Target exclusive. I’m up to date on my Halloween seasonal treats, apparently! Have you seen the Cadbury S-cream Eggs? They’re pretty amazing!

      I’m going to attempt to use the m&ms in some cookies tonight. I’m more excited than I should be ;)

      It was an amazing adventure! I’m so glad I got over my anxiety and went ;)

      I laugh everytime I look at that puffer fish!

      • msdulce says:

        Damn I’m behind on my Halloween candy! I still thought Snickers counted as the good stuff. Cadbury S’cream Eggs?! I googled and now covet. Hard.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Yeah, they make all sorts of awesome stuff! Apparently they used to make candy corn kisses, but not anymore. Now they have pumpkin spice ones. I bought a pack, and they’re in my freezer. I want to make spiced cookies with them, like the peanut butter blossom ones… but I’m waiting until thanksgiving time.

Leave a Reply

