Self Diagnosing Can Drive You Crazy

I just returned from a fun adventure with Trinity.  I’ll update about that once I have photos uploaded and sorted.  I’m too exhausted to even think about that right now.

It’s that ‘2:30 feeling.’  I get it every day.  Some days are worse than others.  Yesterday and today have been bad;  it’s a struggle to not nap.  It usually lasts from around 3:00pm until about 8:00pm.

It’s so bad today that I just tried to make dinner a whole hour early and then filled my coffee cup with creamer and added a tiny bit of coffee.  Brain, why you no work?

I always figured I was exhausted because I didn’t sleep well, I had done a lot, or I was just plain lazy.  Now that I’m being tested for a thyroid problem, I’m starting to wonder if the doctor might just be right.

A thyroid problem never crossed my mind before this.  I’ve spent the last 2+ years thinking I’ve had a hormonal issue.  How did I come up with this theory?  My symptoms didn’t appear until after I had the Depo Shot.  I had lost a ton of weight while on the shot, but as soon as the side effects I had from it disappeared, my weight loss stopped.  I keep trying to think about how things were before I had the shot, but it’s hazy.  I know my weight loss was slow, but I was just working out and trying to eat better; I hadn’t started counting calories until just before the shot.

Because the shot uses progesterone only, I thought that meant I had a progesterone deficiency.  I looked it up, and most of the side effects apply to me.  It can lead to difficulty losing weight, too.  It just fit.  I had no reason to think about anything else.

Now, I’m willing to admit that I might have a Thyroid issue.

I started doing research in hopes of figuring something out.  Mostly, I wanted to convince myself that it could be my Thyroid.  That way I could tell myself I wouldn’t need to get more blood drawn.  What I found is pretty interesting.

Apparently thyroid issues can be triggered by hormonal imbalances   So I might still be right about the progesterone deficiency, and the doctor might be right about thyroid.

This lead me to dig deeper, and I found forums, more forums, and even more forums of women posting about being diagnosed with hypothyroidism after getting the Depo Shot.

So, now I’m all confused and worried and blah.  I should just stop and leave the diagnosing to the doctor.  It’s no secret that I hate and distrust doctors, but there’s nothing I can do in this case.  I just have to wait until the 10th for my results.  If I keep looking this stuff up, I’m just going to drive myself crazy because EVERYTHING seems to fit.

I’m beginning to think that the Depo shot was the worst thing I’ve ever done to my body.  I only had it once, and the side effects were AWFUL.  I don’t even know where to start, but ugh.  Just ugh.  NEVER use Depo, girls.  NEVER.

 

I’ll just stop now.  If you read this far, congratulations.  This was seriously just me rambling to get my thoughts out in hope of making myself feel better.

I just have to make it until October 10th, just a week and a half.  I can do this!

Thank you for listening and not thinking I’m completely crazy.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in illness, rambling, serious, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Self Diagnosing Can Drive You Crazy

  1. You know, Rocket is about 5 months old and while Top Girl was on maternity leave, she spent her time on the Internet looking up every single thing Rocket did. He “had” thrush, autism, failure to thrive, croup, and something else that I cannot remember until I told her to get off that damn computer and let the child be a baby! Not that I would ever tell you what to do, but let me remind you that those forums are full of anecdotal information and your physician IS a scientist – You kids today are just used to instant gratification and if it can’t come from the doctor, you may as well get it from the Internet. I do have SOME advice – take the nap and stick to FB, blogs, and cooking – you are fabulous at all those things!! :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks <3

      I shall try to take your advice. I know I should. I think part of this compulsion to look stuff up is from my anxiety disorder. I have to know all the things!!! It's like I have to know now; I can't wait… but I know that it doesn't help because I have to wait for the results anyway. Ugh. I'll try my best to stop looking things up.

  2. mylifeisthebestlife says:

    Yikes! I have a deathly fear of the Depo shot, but hormonal birth control in general makes me cuckoo.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Hormonal birth control makes me cuckoo, too. That’s why my doctor suggested the shot, because it only uses progesterone. Whereas the normal pill has progesterone and estrogen. It will sometimes affect you differently.

      Yeah, no. Never ever ever again. Never get it, seriously. It made me CRAZY, I developed splotches of dry skin that didn’t go away until it wore off. It was a nightmare. Now it might have messed up my thyroid. Seriously, if you want BC (I know it’s not an issue for you now, but in the future) this should be used as a last resort. I’ll NEVER recommend it to anyone.

  3. tracye1 says:

    Agree, get off the internet. It will make you crazy and every symptom you have will have a matching diagnosis…one worse than the other. Try and rest and take good notes so that you can be factual with your doctor! Never had the Depo shot, but in reality ALL prescription BC options have serious side effects and long term effects. :-( Hope you are your 100% self again very soon!!

Leave a Reply

