Venipuncture

The light in my refrigerator blew out.  It’s very confusing.  Every time I open the fridge, I think it’s broken for a split second; then I remember it’s just the light bulb.  It takes a special bulb, so I have to go buy one now.

 

The real reason I’m writing this update, though, is to let you guys know that I did not pass out while getting my blood drawn today.  This is good news.  Very good news!

I drank a TON of water this morning, like 58 ounces before 9am.  I was really hungry while I was waiting for Daniel to get home from work.  So, I was chugging water to try to suppress the hunger monster.  There was no way she was going to say that I was dehydrated this time.  No way.

I did basically everything else I could think of to make this easier for her, too.  I did some bicep curls (haha), put a heating pad on my arm, squeezed my fist a bunch of time, everything.

None of that can overcome small veins.  The physician’s assistant who was taking my blood stated that I have the tiniest veins that she has ever seen, and they like to roll.  That’s not a good combination for blood tests.

She tried to get one in my left arm, in the elbow crook.  It didn’t work.  I hate that feeling of the needle being moved around inside my arm.  I think that might be what pushed me over the edge last time.

After that miss, she decided she was going to have to go in my hand.  She put a little heating pack on it, one of those packs meant for baby heels.  They help bring the veins to the surface.  While I held the heat on my hand, she ran to her car to grab the baby needles she brought from her other office especially for me.

After she returned from the car, she had three vials full in less than 3 minutes.  I just hope I don’t bruise too bad.  It’s my right hand, and I’m right handed.

I have an appointment on October 10th for my results and to figure out what do to next.  I just know I’m going to have to go through this all again since I’m pretty sure I know what’s wrong with me, and she didn’t order the right tests.  I’m really dreading it.

I’m just trying to remember that any test is a step in the right direction.  This doctor is, at least, not totally brushing off my concerns and telling me that nothing is wrong.  Hopefully I’ll have answers and solutions sometime soon.

 

My husband just got news that he’s going back to 8 hour days starting Monday.  This is pretty awesome.  He’s been on 12 hour days since the beginning of summer, and it was really starting to wear on him.  He had the whole rotating schedule: 3 days off, 3 on, 2 off, 2 on, etc… but it’s still hard.  He was never sleeping enough.  So, he’d end up sleeping most of the time he was off to catch up.  It was just chaotic for us.

Also, you should note that when I say ‘days,’ I mean nights.  He works third shift.  8 hour days are 11pm-730am, and 12 hour days were 7pm-7am.  Rough schedule.

He was also informed that he’s going to be switched to 1st shift (7am-330pm) in three weeks.  I just feel like this is too good to be true, and I can’t let myself be excited.  He’s been on third since before we got married.  Our 5th anniversary was in June.  So, it’s been a while.  The idea of Daniel working normal hours just seems so…. foreign.  I know I should be excited, but it feels weird.  I’m sure I’ll adapt to it easily, though.

 

Is it possible for my iron levels to drop a lot from the bit of blood they took?  I want to eat a steak, and nothing but a steak.

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in daniel, illness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Venipuncture

  1. rich says:

    very happy for you both.

  2. sounds like you have uncooperative veins! My mom was a Med Tech for 40 years and now they have phlebotomists to do that part and the med techs run the tests. I’m lucky, I have big fat veins and once in a while I’ll get someone rooting around with the needle saying crazy things like “your veins are rolling” – mine don’t roll. Some people’s do, but not mine. If they say that, I make them take out the needle and get someone else. or, let my mom come in and do it – even at 74 she can still do it and at least I won’t pass out. Top Girl passes out every single time – lots of the people do! Nope, they didn’t take enough blood for you to be iron deficient – but go have a steak anyway! :) Glad you are getting things started in the right direction!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve always had issues having blood taken. This girl was good, though, because the only place I bruised is where I passed out with the needle in my arm. I usually get HUGE bruises. I’m impressed, haha.

      You really are lucky! I’m super envious of your awesome veins.

      I don’t have any steak in the house, but I do have a chicken in the crock pot. Hopefully that hits the spot tonight, or I’ll be making a Wawa run for a cheese steak or something, haha. I always crave steak like that around that time of the month, so I always think of it as some sort of iron deficiency. I could be wrong, haha. maybe I just like steak!

  3. msdulce says:

    Yay, lots of good news for you today! Congrats on your man’s new & improved work schedule and on the successful blood draw (and don’t feel bad… I’ve fainted 3 or 4 times having my blood drawn & couldn’t go in without a hand-holding buddy until my mid-20′s… now THAT’S embarrassing!).

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I’m really excited about the new work schedule, but it still feels weird. I have a feeling I’ll get used to it pretty quickly, though ;)

      I’m so glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t do well with the needles! It’s just weird to be fine with it for 29 years, then BAM! fainting happens.

  4. Oh yeah…been on both sides of the old butterfly in the hand trick. Heat dilates the veins, making them easier to get the needle in. Glad the PA-C did well by you…not that I’m biased or anything ;). Keeping fingers crossed for the better shift…3rd is a tough shift, though my night-owl uncle loves it, and pretty much has worked “graveyard” his entire career. Good luck on both lab results and work shift!

    • pamasaurus says:

      The butterfly needle in the hand thing sucks, huh? Oh well, I guess it’s better than nothing!

      Thanks! Third shift takes a special person. I don’t know how Daniel has done it for so long, and I’m anxious to see how he adapts to first!

Leave a Reply

