Menu Plan Monday #15

I know this is late.  I have good reason.  This morning, I went to get my blood drawn for my tests.  I don’t know what happened; I’ve had blood drawn numerous times before, and I’ve always been fine.

Today, though, she was having difficulty finding my veins.  That’s not a new thing to me; I’m used to being stuck a billion times.  She stuck me a second time, and I got really light headed.  She mentioned that my blood was moving really slow.  So, I glanced down.  That was it.  I passed out.

I had never passed out before in my life.  It’s not an awesome experience.  It was really disorienting and embarrassing.  I was dreaming while passed out, I guess, and didn’t know who I was when I woke up.  It took me a full minute to figure everything out.  On top of that, I was so cold and clammy.  I don’t even know how to explain it.  I hope to never ever experience this again.

Then I vomited.  Repeatedly.  Uggggh.

Apparently I was severely dehydrated.  Daniel and I laughed at this because I normally drink at least 80, if not 100+, ounces of water a day.  Then we realized I had spent yesterday on the boardwalk in the wind and sun without a lot of water.  The day before was spent outside in the sun as well.  Ugh.  It’s amazing how fast the body dehydrates!

So, I ended up lying to them and saying I was fine.  I did not want to have to get IV fluids at the hospital or something.  Instead, Daniel brought me home.  I was unable to keep anything down, including water, until recently.  It’s been a rough day.

So, I have to work on rehydrating myself and then go back on Thursday to get my blood drawn again.  This sucks so hard, guys.  So, so hard.  Not only because I passed out and have to experience the needles all over again, but also because that means I’ll have to wait even longer for my results.

It’s really frustrating and embarrassing and just made of fail.

Needless to say, I did not cook dinner tonight.  I had everything planned out, but I’ll just bump one meal to next week.  That means only six things will be on the list for today.

  1. Tortellini with Broccoli and Alfredo Sauce
  2. Crock pot chicken with Mashed Potatoes and Cauliflower
  3. PA Dutch Chicken Pot Pie
  4. Crack Potatoes (but with some changes to make it a full meal casserole)
  5. Clam Chowder
  6. BBQ Chicken with Macaroni and Cheese

So, there’s that.

Oh, one last thing!  I’m now back on Twitter.  I had an account, forgot about it, went back to it, forgot about it, and now I’m back again.  Hopefully I can keep it up!

Are you on Twitter?  Leave your name below and follow me @86thetomato.

And, now I’m off to nap.  Again.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in illness, list making, menu plan monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #15

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    Eek! That sounds like a terrible experience. Hope you’re feeling better soon. Make sure you drink plenty of fluids and definitely don’t look down on Thursday!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’ll try not to look down ;)

      I’ve had blood work done numerous times before (I was *very* sick while pregnant, and had them every week for the last trimester). I’ve even donated blood a few times. This is the first time I’ve reacted badly to it. Weird! Hopefully it really was because I was dehydrated and not because I’ve developed a phobia or something ;)

  2. KY says:

    I was going to click on ‘Like’ but then again, it would mean that I’m liking the fact that you’re vomiting and all. Hope you’re feeling better now. Get some fluids and more rest!

  3. Jennifer M. says:

    That stinks! Sorry that happened to you :( Will pray for an easy time on Thursday. And remember, don’t look at the needle!
    Will definitely look for you on Twitter. I’m @downhomesj. See you there…

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’m going to make sure I drink enough water both Wednesday and then Thursday morning in hopes that it goes better!

      I’ve had blood drawn more times than I can remember, and I’ve donated blood a few times. I’ve NEVER had this happen, haha. So, I’m thinking it was just a fluke!

      I’m heading over to follow you now!

  4. You poor thing! I’m a tough stick too…being on a blood thinner, it is a monthly pain in the arm. I’ve found that if you “bulk up” on fluids…chug a cup of water an hour or so before you go…and dress warm to keep everything nice and dilated as possible…you might get out of a jab or two. Glad you are feeling better today!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks for the tips! I’m definitely going to drink plenty of water and dress warmly. The lady also suggested squeezing my fists all morning to make the veins pop a bit more. I do not want a repeat!

      • I haven’t tried it, since I go first thing in the morning YAAAWWWWNNN….but I’ve heard a little light weight lifting helps make the veins easier to find too. Makes sense. Maybe it’s a guy thing, but as I remember it, most lifters had veins a blind man on a galloping horse could hit.

      • pamasaurus says:

        haha, that’s a good idea, too! I have some hand weights I could blast real fast before going. I get it done right at my doctor’s office, and they open at 830. So, I’ll be there when they open. I wish I could go earlier and get it out of the way!

  5. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • pamasaurus says:

      You are very welcome, I was more than happy to have you. You were a perfect guest, and you’d be more than welcome to come back.

      Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

