Running Update – 5K to 10K

I’m about to go running.  I know I haven’t updated about that in a while, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been doing it.  Running is just… boring, I guess.  I have had nothing to say about it.  I go, I run 3.1 miles, I stretch, I come home.

I usually have to pep talk my way through it or think of what I want to update about/email to a friend/write down/something because I have the shortest attention span known to mankind.  I was thinking about downloading books on tape or something.  Maybe that would’ve given me something to concentrate on.  I’m still thinking about this for the future.

Instead, I decided to start a new program.  I use Rundouble for all my smartphone run tracking needs.  It’s the best Couch to 5K app I’ve found. It’s only available for Android, though.  Sorry iPhone users.  I’m sure you’ll find something that is almost as good.

The latest update to my app brought in some new programs, including a couch to 10k, a 5k to 10k, and a 5k improver.

I have decided that I must be insane, because I started the 5k to 10k program on Monday.  I’m about to go to w1d2.  It’s 6 weeks.  Yikes!  This gives me something to concentrate on and goals to work towards.  So, it should help with my meandering attention.

I had a hard time deciding between this program and the 5k improver… but the improver is 16 weeks.  No thank you…. or, maybe I’ll work on that one next.  I don’t know.  There are too many choices, and I want to RUN ALL THE THINGS!

So, that’s where I stand with my running at the moment.  Thankfully it’s been cooler, so I can run on the trail without heat stroke being a concern.

In other news, I’ve been working on some DIY Halloween decorations.  I’m pretty happy with everything so far, and I cannot wait to finish decorating!  Halloween is seriously my favorite holiday.  I’m pretty excited.

Oh!  I took Trinity apple picking on Monday.  She was upset that I went without her.  So, now I have a whole bunch of Gala and Red Delicious apples on top of the Jonagold I’m still working on!

I didn’t bring my camera, but I do have a few Instagram photos to share!  I was excited because the pumpkins are ready.  We’ll wait until October to get ours, though.  That way they’ll last until Halloween.

Huge pumpkin is HUGE!

I adore white pumpkins.

PICK ALL THE APPLES! That’s the hubster walking in the background.

….and that is all.  The trail is calling me.

 

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in crafty, halloween, holiday, photos, rambling, running, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Running Update – 5K to 10K

  1. How exciting!!! Sort of. I want to run, too, but I’m going to weight until the baby comes out and then probably four more years because I’m bad at actually starting to run. And continuing to run. But I’m really good at WANTING it.

    Nice huge pumpkins!!!! *not in a dirty way.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Wanting it is a start. One day, it’ll click. I spent a year wanting to run before I finally just did it.

      And… when you do, I HIGHLY recommend starting with the c25k program. I couldn’t run down the block without running out of breath, and that program had me running a full 5k within 9 weeks.

  2. You are a better woman than I…at least on stationary bike, you can read away the boring, impossible to do while running. At least not without running into stuff. You have a beautiful family! Enjoy the fall and the pumpkins!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!

      At least when I run outside, I have stuff to look at. I haaaaate running on the treadmill because I lose interest so fast :/ I wish I could read while running; it would be awesome!

  3. tracye1 says:

    I miss running. That’s when I caught up on all my favorite podcasts or just think things through. Now I walk. Which is good, too and easier on the knee(s), but something about the sweat and the accomplishment of a good run….tough to beat! Enjoy!!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Podcasts! I don’t listen to any, but I’m sure I could find a few to interest me! Thanks for the idea :D

      I have to run on the trail or the treadmill or my hip hurts so bad that I can’t walk. I wish it wasn’t such a high impact activity :/

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    I like the books on tape idea. I could see that working if you had a really interesting book!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve never really been a ‘books on tape’ type of person; I adore actually reading… but I think it’s worth a try to keep my brain on track!

      • TheLittleGSP says:

        I’ve never actually tried listening to books on tape either but it could work for running. This reminds me.. I meant to comment on your Ender’s Game post. I read it from my phone and I’m not very good about typing out comments on the phone. Anyway… I love Ender’s Game too! I used to reread it over and over again years ago. I think I read all of the other books in the series too but I’m having trouble remembering any of the details. Maybe it’s time for another reread – I think the books are boxed up in our attic somewhere. :-)

  5. msdulce says:

    Would listening to music while running make it any better? Without my ipod I have zero motivation to run… in fact, the few times I’ve gone to the gym to find it’s out of power, I just turned around and went home. :} Maybe some dance-y music would help fight the boredom!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I listen to music, but it doesn’t hold my attention as much as it used to. My brain is constantly drifting lately, and I need something that will keep me on track, haha.

  6. Jennifer M. says:

    I want to see your Halloween decorations! Can’t wait (Halloween is my favorite holiday, too)!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ll get pictures/make posts about them sometime this week :D I haven’t decorated yet… just made two things so far.

  7. Pingback: Autumn Checklist | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

