The One Where I Ramble About Books

I finished rereading Odd Thomas last night.  It’s, perhaps, my favorite book.  Well, it’s a series.  So, I guess I should say it’s my favorite series.  The newest book came out at the end of July, but I’m practicing Stormy’s delayed gratification and rereading the other four books first.

So, I’m done with the first one, and am about to start the next in a few minutes.  If you have not read these books already, I highly recommend that you do so.  They’re amazing, and Dean Koontz knows how to write an ending.  I’ve read this book more times than I care to admit…. but the ending still gets to me.  Seriously.  Amazing books.

Another reason to read them?  The movie is supposedly coming out next year.  Get on the bandwagon before there is a bandwagon, guys.  I’m excited, but scared.  I hope they don’t ruin it.  Hollywood usually messes up everything that I love.

They’re also putting out an Ender’s Game movie (With Harrison Ford.  I adore him.) next year.  That’s another amazing book.  In fact, my Kindle’s name is Ender.   It was the first book I downloaded and read on him.

Yes, my electronics are all male and most have names.  I call them by name, too.  When I take my iPod on a run, I say, “Dallas and I are going on a run.”  I’m weird like that.

 

Long story short:  Hollywood better not mess up two of my favorite books.  Also, you should read both of those books now, kthx.

Ender’s Game is also a series, but I didn’t particularly care for the other books.  It stands well on it’s own, and the others have a different theme.  It’s hard to explain, but hopefully someone, somewhere agrees.

 

 

We’re meeting up with Megan and family on Sunday for a picnic and hiking at the nature preserve.  I’m pretty excited.  We’re each making something, and I am probably going to make pulled pork/chicken (whichever is on sale) sandwiches with an Asian twist.  Hopefully they turn out delicious.

 

Also, I ran on the sidewalk last night.  I now remember why I haven’t done that in 3-4 months.  My hip hurt for a bit, but stretching took care of it.  At least I know that I can do it sporadically, just not all the time.  Stupid joint pain, anyway.

I’m just typing for the sake of typing at this point, so I will shut up.  Hope you guys have an amazing weekend.  Do you have any awesome plans??

 

Also, book recommendations are needed now.  What is your favorite book?

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, books, cooking, friends, geek, philadelphia, rambling, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The One Where I Ramble About Books

  1. Dianty says:

    I’m always looking for a good read. So i’m going to put them on my Kindle wishlist.

  2. I’m one of those odd people who doesn’t read fiction! I have a lot of non-fiction favorites but most people would just see them as boring reference books! :)

  3. nutmeg says:

    I LOVE ENDER’S GAME! And yes… I tried to get into the rest of the series but I couldn’t get past the first few chapters of Speaker for the Dead. Last year (maybe?) we found a book at Borders that claimed to be the true sequel to EG, but I have yet to crack it open. It’s called Ender In Exile. From the Wiki, “It is an interquel and occurs between Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead.[1] It could also be considered a parallel novel to the last three books in the Shadow Saga, since the entirety of these books takes place in the span of Ender in Exile. The novel also concludes a story line, and makes several references to events that take place during the Shadow Saga. Ender in Exile begins one year after Ender has won the bugger war, and begins with the short story “Ender’s Homecoming” from Card’s webzine Intergalactic Medicine Show. Other short stories that were published elsewhere are included as chapters of the novel.”

    I had no idea there were so many stories in the arc: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ender%27s_Game_(series)

    And yea… I think we have some cool plans coming up ;) Pic-a-nicking and a nice walk around the nature preserve sounds wonderful.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that feels this way! I’ve heard of Ender In Exile, but never gave it a chance. I’ve been so turned off by the next few in the series (I’ve read up to, and part of Ender’s Shadow) I kept hoping they would get better, but meeeeeeh. Just meh. I hate leaving the series unfinished, but I just couldn’t force it anymore at that point. If you ever give Ender in Exile a chance, let me know :D

Leave a Reply

