The Murphy’s Law Cake

I’ve been a bad blogger this week.  I apologize; it’s been crazy around these parts.

My mom and two nephews are on the road right now.  They’ll be here in about four hours to spend the whole weekend here.

So, I’ve spend the last 24 hours trying to make my house presentable.  It’s not dirty…. just cluttered and lived in.  It drives me crazy when everything is all over, anyway.  So, my mind is much more centered now that I’ve de-cluttered.

I also spent the majority of yesterday making, or attempting to make this cake for Trinity’s party tonight.  It didn’t go exactly as planned.  One layer compeltely fell apart, the frosting didn’t set the way it should have, I ran out of dark chocolate, I burnt the glaze.

I think I managed to salvage it.  I’m just hoping it tastes good.  If it tastes bad, I’ll definitely cry.  I was thisclose to breaking down in tears yesterday because of this cake.  It was so frustrating.

I’ve been having emotional issues all week.  Honestly, I think it’s because I’m taking a break from running.  I can totally understand why people get addicted to exercise, because I’m definitely going through withdraw or something.  It’s really messing with my head.

So, I think I’m going to head to the trail in a few minutes.  Running makes me happy.  I’m going to keep running, even if it means I destroy my hip.  Even if it means I have to get a hip replacement;  I’ll just run on that, too!

(Please note, I have no reason to think I need a hip replacement.  I just have this irrational fear at the moment.  It’s a long story.)

I just need some endorphins, STAT.  Seriously.  I can’t deal with this anymore.  How do people quit running?  I couldn’t even go four days without running.  I’d die if I had to go the rest of my life!  DIE!

I feel like I need it to make it through this weekend.  I’m a creature that craves alone time. So, house guests usually put me on edge, especially house guests like Wyatt.  Kid can talk and talk…. and talk.  Add to that a house full of pre-teen girls tonight and the stress of parties and beach trips and ugggggh.  My anxiety issues make everything ten times worse than it actually is.  Yeah.  I need to snap out of this awful mood I’ve been in since I couldn’t didn’t finish my run on Monday.

I’ll shut up and stop procrastinating now.  I really hope you guys have a nice weekend!  I’ll return Monday with hopefully a menu plan and birthday/beach photos!

What are your plans?

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in complaining, cooking, rambling, running, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Murphy’s Law Cake

  1. I really hope you have a good weekend and can get some ‘me time’ in there too. :)

  2. TheLittleGSP says:

    The cake recipe looks really really good. How could you go wrong with all of that chocolate? If your cake is even half as good I’m sure it will be a huge hit! :-)

    Hope that your trail run was good and that you are feeling better now!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It has soooo much chocolate in it, like a whole pound! And, 6 sticks of butter! It better taste good ;)

      Thanks!!! The run was awesome :D

  3. Vicky says:

    Aww! Sorry to hear you’re having a tough week. I always have trouble with cake recipes the first time I make them too. Don’t worry about the appearance, I’m sure it will be wonderful! Let us know how it goes :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! It was really delicious and the kids didn’t care that it looked like a disaster, haha.

      It was YUM. Go make it now, haha.

  4. So glad to hear the cake tasted good! I know how you feel about needing alone time……as an only child, lots of people, noise and certainly company (no matter howmuch I love them) get on my nerves quick! Wishing you a peaceful weekend – and hey! You won something!!! It’s your LUCKY weekend!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #50 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

